Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

August 14, 2023

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. President, Chad Prieve, called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason, Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Gary Spielman, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: None.

Mr. Prieve led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Spielman seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on July 10, 2023, and special meeting on July 26, 2023, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Prieve welcomed visitors.

Jorgensen moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Dr. White, Director of Human Resources, reported on the district's Wellness Program. She explained the report is completed every 3 years as per board policy. The report included a list of committee members, the progress on the previous years' goals, and the goals for 2023-2026. She shared participation numbers, which have grown, and a summary of the activities from the 2022-23 school year.

Mr. DiStefano, Superintendent, provided an overview of the Wisconsin Act 20 Reading Bill, which focuses on literacy in grades K-3. He explained that the district is taking an expanded approach and extending the focus to grades K-5. The Office of Teaching & Learning and the Office of Student Services are working on process refinements and being ahead of training and implementation timelines.

Mr. Cashman, Director of Business Services, reported on the district's cash-flow borrowing needs for 2023-2024. He provided an overview of the different types of short-term debt and reviewed the district's line of credit use for the past three years. The district did not utilize the line of credit during 2022-2023. He reviewed the proposals received from two local banks and recommended accepting National Exchange Bank & Trust's proposal and adoption of a resolution to authorize cash flow borrowing not to exceed \$5,000,000.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to adopt a resolution authorizing a taxable tax and revenue anticipation promissory note for cash flow purposes in an amount not to exceed \$5,000,000 through National Exchange Bank & Trust.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. No-None.

Mr. Prieve explained that there were no committee meetings in July or August and there is a board workshop scheduled for August 21. The next committee meetings are scheduled for September 25.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in over the past month.

Mr. DiStefano recognized the Robert Keller Real Estate Group, Peter J. Seippel Foundation, and Nelson and Vera Hicks Foundation for their donations to the PaLs Program. He also recognized the students and staff who are involved with the County Fair and staff involved with a successful summer school session and registrations.

The board recognized the High School Boys Soccer team for volunteering for the Second Harvest Mobile Food Pantry. They also recognized the community organizations who are collecting school supplies and other items for students to start the school year and staff, students, and families involved in the Community Theater summer productions.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, the board recess into closed session per pursuant to Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. Nay-None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees.

Kuntz moved, Tyjeski seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the following resignations and retirement: Mitchell Allen-Math Teacher-High School (Resignation effective 9/14/23); Susan Carran-Special Education Teacher Assistant-Prairie View Elementary School (Retirement effective 2/18/24); Rebekah Cohrs-Grade 4 Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Resignation effective end of the 2022-23 school year); Bradley Kozaczuk-Special Education Teacher-High School (Resignation effective 8/11/23); and Jeff Sauer-Math Teacher/Dean of Students-Middle School (Resignation effective 8/4/23).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following leave of absence requests: Kristine Eberle-Math Teacher-Middle School (Medical Leave 11/13/23-1/19/24) and Skylar Eberle-Special Education Teacher-High School (Family Medical Leave 1/23/24-2/15/24).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Kraus seconded, to approve the following appointments: Jami Dugan-Dean of Students-Middle School; Kelli Elert-Grade 5 Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School; Ashley Hacker-Science/Social Studies Teacher-Middle School; Jamie McMillin-Special Education Teacher-High School; and Connor Sisel-Math Teacher-Middle School.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. Nay-None.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #525, #526, #527, #528, #529 and #530) for ACH File, Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, Health Savings Account, Payroll Related Voucher, District Insurances, Health Savings Account (District), AmerFunds, Ameriprise, AXA, Fidelity, Franklin, Met Life, Newport, Thrivent, WEA TSA, and Wisconsin Retirement System for a total of \$6,799,532.39. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, and Kuntz. Nay-None.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

/s/ Chad Prieve, President

<u>/s/</u> Marge Jorgensen, Clerk